India Vs New Zealand 3rd ODI 2023: An initial quick glance at the Match

A big update for India, for the third ODI, New Zealand only made one change, switching Henry Shipley for Jacob Duffy.

Photo- BCCI (@BCCI)/Twitter

Tom Latham won the toss and decided to bowl at the notoriously high-scoring Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. Henry Shipley was replaced by swing bowler, although not very fast, Jacob Duffy in the New Zealand XI that lost the first two games. It meant that despite Henry Nicholls’ poor series when Kane Williamson was out, they continued to trust him at No. 3. Simultaneously two changes have been made in Team India as well, Umran Malik and Chahal have been given a chance in place of fast bowlers Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj.

Considering that it will be difficult to defend on such a short field, Rohit Sharma claimed he would have chosen to bat first anyhow because he wanted to put the team in more difficult situations. India, having made the decision to bat first, presented a significant test to their spinners by selecting three of them for their starting XI. Umran Malik and Yuzvendra Chahal took the place of Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami, India’s two most effective bowlers. Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav were both in the Indian ODI XI for just the third time since the 2019 World Cup.

Rahul Dravid, the head coach of India, had made a suggestion that they might be gentle with the fast bowlers who will be taking part in the Test series against Australia in February.

The ODI status is on the line in today’s match, despite the fact that India has already won the series 2-0. At the beginning of the series, New Zealand held the top spot, but a victory will move India past England to claim the top spot.

Also read: US Mass Shooting: Identified suspect killed himself, reports Los Angeles sheriff Robert Luna

The Teams are-

India 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Ishan Kishan (wk), 5 Suryakumar Yadav, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik

New Zealand 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Henry Nicholls, 4 Daryl Mitchell, 5 Tom Latham (capt & wk), 6 Glenn Phillips, 7 Michael Bracewell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Jacob Duffy, 10 Blair Tickner, 11 Lockie Ferguson